The past: What worked? What didn’t? Why?

As a third year pre-service teacher I have been given many opportunities to teach classes and put my ideas into action. From the first professional experience placement, I have been trying to use ICTs as part of my practice. On my first placement, my mentor was very “old school” she believed that the students worked best when writing. I asked her if I was able to try something different in her class and use some powerpoints and projected sheets to enhance and speed up their learning. Many of the students

On my first placement, my mentor was very “old school” she believed that the students worked best when writing. I asked her if I was able to try something different in her class and use some videos, powerpoints, and projected sheets to enhance and speed up their learning. Many of the students in this class struggled with writing and therefore asking them to write for 70 minutes was a big ask. The students responded very well to having their learning intention and key words on the powerpoint as well as watching a video that directly related to the content so they didn’t have to hear my boring voice all lesson, and then take turns completing a projected worksheet sheet on the board while others could contribute answers.

There have also been times on other placements where my plans to use ICT did not go as planned. Sometimes there were issues with the computers not working, or the students not understanding how to use it. These issues often led to a disrupted classroom and meant that the lesson had to be changed.

Through these experiences I have learnt that when using ICT we need to be prepared for changed and to be flexible.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

